Yankton School District 63-3

Skip to main content
Go Bucks and Gazelles!        

YSD Announces the Teacher of the Year and Employee of the Year

Teachers and staff members who have served the Yankton School District for 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 35 years as well as retirees were recognized at a Recognition Social held at Mount Marty University.  The following people are recognized for their years of service.

  • 5 Years — Dean Anderson, Sarah Brandt, Kim Byrkeland, Laura Horacek, Lindsay Kortan, Lisa Mahnke, Nicole Mehlhaff, Jordan Mogck, Lesa Palsma, Lindsi Pekas, Ray Quinlivin, Tracy Robinson, Mike Stanage, Britta Stucky, Bethany Svacina, Robert Taylor, and Debra Wostrel
  • 10 Years —Tony Beste, Maggie Dvoracek, Tina Koletzky, Ryan Mors, Pauline Rhoades, and Kathy Sage
  • 15 Years — Dale Bromley, Keith Goeden, Julie Koller, Jack Kyriss, Angela Larson, Susan Muehlbeier, and Heather Olson
  • 20 Years — Susan Adam, Jeanne Beckman, Kathleen Bergeson, Connie Bromley, Kim Eide, Susan Goeden, Rebecca Gravholt, Alyssa Roth, and Kris Rutledge
  • 25 Years — Todd Carr, Melissa Crosley, Michelle Hoesing, Lori Leader, Susan Meeker, Jill Mikkelsen, Lori Schaeffer, and Angela Stratman
  • 30 Years — Kathy Frank
  • 35 Years – Michele Fleer, Allison Moon, and Jamie Van Winkle
Retiring Staff

Brian Engebretson - Head Custodian at Stewart, 29 years

Connie Frohreich – Administrative Assistant to the Director of Student Services, 32 years

Randy Gross – High School Teacher, 37 years

Annette Haberman – Occupational Therapist, 24 years

Sandi Kramer – Child Nutrition Director, 38 years

Murray McGlone – Middle School Teacher, 29 years

Amy Miner – High School Teacher, 21 years

Cindy Stenstrom – Beadle School Paraprofessional, 22 years

Jamie Van Winkle – Lincoln School Teacher, 35 years


Teacher of the Year

The nominees for Yankton School District Teacher of the Year were Julie Koch, High School Teacher, Lexy Zimmerman, Middle School Teacher and Teresa Janssen, Middle School Teacher.   The Yankton Teacher of the Year for 2022 is Teresa Janssen. 

The nominees for the Yankton School District Employee of the Year were Hannah Carda, Stewart Speech Language Pathologist, Sylvia Fedde, Lincoln School Librarian, Karen Giraud, Lincoln School Paraprofessional, Kim Kotrous, Webster School Child Nutrition, Sarah Lawrence, School Nurse, Lindsi Pekas, MS/HS Speech Language Pathologist, Lori Rust, Business Office, and YSD Nurse StaffNursing Staff.   The Yankton School District Employees of the Year for 2022 are the YSD Nursing Staff, Sarah Lawrence, Rachel Carda, Beth Preheim, Gina Mrozla, Randi Kindle and Katrina Romero. 

Farm Credit Services, Mount Marty University, Marlow, Woodward & Huff, Prof. LLC, Dakota Beverage, and Yankton School District Parent/Teacher Organizations sponsor the Yankton School District Recognition Social.