Yankton School District 63-3

Skip to main content
Go Bucks and Gazelles!        
Boards & Committees » School Board » School Board Election

School Board Election



The City of Yankton and the Yankton School District 63-3 will have a combined election on
Tuesday, April 12th, 2022. 


School Board Election 2022
2022 Sample Ballot  Who is eligible to vote in this election?
School Board Election: Voter Registration
School Board Election: Absentee Voting - In Person School Board Election: Absentee Voting - By Mail
School Board Election: Absentee Voting - Messenger Service



Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. 


Voting centers are located at:

City Hall - 416 Walnut Street
Fire Station #2 – 201 West 23rd Street
The following 6 candidates are running for three open seats on  the Yankton City Commission with a three year term: The following 5 candidates are running for two open seats on the Yankton School Board with a three year term:
 Jerry L. Webber  Amanda Johnson
 Stacey Nickels  Sarah Carda
 Mason Schramm  Erick Messler
 Amy Miner  Terry Crandall
 Miles Warren  Lisa Hagemann
 Curt Bernard  


Absentee voting will be available Monday, March 28th through April 11th, 2022 from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM at the City Finance Office (416 Walnut Street) and the School Administration Building (2410 W City Limits Road).

The deadline for voter registration is Monday, March 28th, to vote in the Tuesday, April 12th, 2022 election. Failure to register by this date will cause forfeiture of voting rights for this election. If you are in doubt about whether you are registered, check the Voter Information Portal at www.sdsos.gov or call the county auditor at 260-4400.



Remember to update your voter registration:  To vote for City Commission candidates, you must live within Yankton city limits, and be registered with the Yankton County Auditor.  To vote for Yankton School Board candidates, you must live within the Yankton School District and be registered with the Yankton County Auditor.



To vote, you must either:

  • Present a photo ID, or if not able to do so,
  • Sign an affidavit which will be given to you.
 Accepted forms of photo identification include any one of the following:
  • A SD driver license or non-driver ID card; or
  • A US government photo ID; or
  • A tribal photo ID; or
  • A current student photo ID from a SD high school or SD Accredited institution of higher education.

To learn more about municipal and school elections, visit the South Dakota Secretary of State's website.